First Post- “How’s Your Internet?”

The title of this assignment is “How’s Your Internet?” I will go into detail of how I use the internet and what it means to me. But seeing as how this is my first post, I will start with a brief self introduction. I am unfamiliar with blogging and writing about myself and sharing my ideas, so please bear with me as I grow accustomed to this new form of communication.

Self Intro

My name is Tony, I am a 4th year student at Temple University Japan, studying International Affairs. The reason for this major is my interest making the world a better place. I feel that the best way to make a positive difference is to work with governments and affect the system from the top. In the future I hope to engage in a career of diplomacy.

My hobbies

Uses of and Thoughts on the internet

I have been around computers for as long as I remember. In my childhood, I often found myself playing computer games and surfing sites for children rather than going outside with friends. Because of this prevalence of technology in my life, I feel that I am very computer-literate and up to date with most necessary computer programs.

My personal uses of the internet are those of news, communication, and entertainment. Everyday I read the headlines of BBC to keep in touch with current events. This is very important for me to understand the workings of the world. Secondly, I use the internet for communication. I use my school email multiple times a day, conversing with professors, classmates, and administration. I also use Facebook to keep in touch with friends and family. The final use of the internet is for entertainment. I watch movies, television shows, and video game commentary in my free time after school.

Although the internet is an important facet of my life (and the lives of myriads of people worldwide) I feel that it is also a double-edged sword. We boast that the internet is revolutionizing communication, information, and lifestyles. However there are many “poisons” that come with the internet as well.

How convenient is the internet for communication? In forums, emails, texts, posts or any form of internet communication, I feel that we are losing our sense to connect with each other. How many times are there posts containing as little words as possible, shorthand, incomplete sentences and incorrect grammar? The reliance of memes, trolling, and inside jokes is dumbing down our ability to have meaningful conversations. I am a fan of talking with people face to face. I feel that in this way people can connect better by way of facial expression, body language, intonation and so on. I’m sure we have all heard the phrase “Sarcasm doesn’t translate on the internet” Well I feel that other emotions and styles of communication do not either.

Don’t get me wrong, I am very content with the access to communication given via the internet. Without it, I would have a much more difficult time conversing with my family in America. Another interesting feature which I am discovering as I write this blog is the ability to express and put to word my feelings and thoughts. Although I am not satisfied with the “revolution” of communication from the internet, I am excited to learn from this class and eager to see if my opinion can be changed. At the end of the semester I will revisit this post and see if I see the internet in a different light.

So there you are world, here are my thoughts. Does anyone out there share my feelings of the degradation of communication? Does anyone oppose? If you have read this, please let me know what you think about the internet’s effect on our face-to-face communication.

Until next time,

B3Movement

3 comments on “First Post- “How’s Your Internet?”

  1. lockmantuj says:

    It made my day when I saw this post yesterday. I’d have left a comment at that very moment but I was a bit overwhelmed with a tough schedule.

    Having reread your crisp writing, all I can is you nailed it. I am very sympathetic to your critique of certain ways that communication, interaction and even civility have suffered with the spread of the internet.

    In listing your online activities one item I noticed by its absence was creative expression. My hunch is that a great many of consume far more information than we put into the online world. One of my greatest hopes for this course is that through getting in to the ds106 process, we will be able to experience forms of communication, interaction and expression that just might get revise your critique.

    I’m delighted to have you along for the ride and look forward to hearing more from you.

    One more thing, when you have a moment, please register your blog at the ds106 site:
    http://ds106.us/register/

    You’ll want to select TUJ in the drop-down box in the profile section. Also, you are welcome to use the same username that you will use for your other accounts this semester when registering.

  2. roundhouseslap says:

    Are there any other boardgames that you’re into? There’s actually a board gaming meet up group in Tokyo called JIGG, or the “Japan International Gamer’s Guild.” They play mostly Euro or Ameritrash games, like Carcassonne, Agricola, Last Night on Earth, Arkham Horror, etc. If you’re interested, let me know! I’ll gladly forward the information.

    • b3movement says:

      I actually haven’t heard of any of those games before! But I would still like to check it out, could I have that info? I sometimes feel an unreasonable passion for board games, it would be nice to share that feelign with others.
      Thanks!

Leave a comment