MY Personal Cyberinfrastructure

In this blog post I will relate Gardner Campbell’s article “A Personal cyberinfrastructure” to my own college experience with technology. Afterwards I will brainstorm what my own personal cyberinfrastructure would contain, and how it could be used to enhance education.

From my experience in higher education, there is little to no interaction with technology. The furthest extent of technology used in my college experience is based upon the LMS “Blackboard”. This is used only to check grades, announcements from teachers, and to submit papers. The extent of teacher’s technological expertise is proficiency in power point to give their lectures.

Gardner Campbell mentioned LMS like blackboard saying, “Higher education looked in the mirror and, seeing its portals, it’s easy-to-use LMS’s, and its “digital campuses”, admired itself as sleek, youthful, attractive. But the mirror lied.” He says that blackboard does not make a campus “digital” it is only an illusion. I have to agree here, I have been using blackboard since middle school, more than 10 years ago. In this web 2.0 age, what measures has higher education taken? The answer seems to be none.

My personal cyberinfrastructure would be a platform to conduct my studies. I could compile all my resources when writing papers, and drag and drop quotations and citations as I see fit. MY personal cyberinfrastructure would have a live chat open with the tutoring center, where I can posit a question to them and get a live response right when I need it. Included in this chat would be contacts for all of my classmates, added automatically, to ask them for help and study together online. In personal cyber infrastructure, I can add articles that I read, and take notes and add them into the file. Teachers can see this file and my notes, and add comments and additional information.

Grades can be given and attached to my profile, including awards and commendations. Professors can comment and leave their letters of recommendation which can be accessed by future employers. This infrastructure will be given at the start of college, and will be carried with me to apply for ever class throughout my college career.

That is what I envision when I think of a personal cyber infrastructure in college. I want a comprehensive study platform, with communication, data consolidation, and space for professors to comment and add feedback. This infrastructure requires many changes in the campus. Including a faculty that is proficient in this platform, which I believe is the purpose of Campbell’s article.

What would you like to see in your personal cyberinfrastructure in higher education? Leave a comment!

 

One comment on “MY Personal Cyberinfrastructure

  1. lockmantuj says:

    I like your imagined vision of a personal cyberinfrastructure. The idea of having a place to keep clippings of ideas, quotations and ideas is a useful and important one. I also like the idea of keeping a chat window open with a connection to a tutoring center. This is brilliant,

    I seem to recall using such a service with the library from our main campus in Philly a few years ago. It was through iChat and AOL instant messaging. Often times there was an actual librarian on duty to answer questions in real time. Absent that, the message would bet a reply when a librarian returned to the computer.

    I’m not sure if this is still functioning but it was a very useful service the few times I needed to use it.

Leave a Reply

